Staci Swedeen

Playwright, Author, Actor


Individual Artist Fellowship from the Arts Council of Tennessee, 2014

Piccolo Spoleto, 2013 - performed one woman show "Pardon Me For Living"

Finalist for the Firehouse Play Festival Competition, "House Rules, " 2008

Arts & Letters Award in Drama for "The Secret of Our Success' (one act play), 2004

Semi-Finalist for "Voices of Fire" - Dorothy Silver Playwrighting Competition, 2004

Finalist,RIP, Louisville Humana Festival, 2003

Artist in Residence, International Fellowship to Fundanacion Valparaiso, Spain, 2003

Winner, “Best Short Film” Westchester Film Festival, 2003. Also won Audience Choice Award, Valleyfest, Tennessee

Semi-Finalist, Mill Mountain Playhouse "AM/​FM IN THE FIRST DEGREE" 2003

Ensemble Studio Theatre/​Sloan Foundation New Play Commission, "The Feeble-Mindedness of Woman" 2002

Lark Theatre Fellowship, NYC, 2002-2003

Dramatist Guild Fellowship, 2002

Honored by The Newman Theatre, Westchester for contribution to local arts, 2002

Djerrassi Artists Fellowship and Residency, 2001

Prize Winner, Sprenger-Lang Foundation New Play Contest "The Frozen Grail" 2001

Millay Artist Residency, James Lapine Fellowship, 2000

New River Dramatists, North Carolina Summer Sessions, 1999-2002, again in 2008

Atlantic Center for the Arts Fellowship with Arthur Kopit, 1999

Westchester Arts Council/​Municipal Challenge Grant to create an interactive play "The Mystery of Sleepy Hollow" with choreographer Diane Coburn Bruning

Charlotte Repertory Theatre Best New Plays Award, 1996

Mount Sequoyah Playwriting Fellowship, 1996

Maxwell Anderson Playreading Series Winner, 1993

Tennessee Williams Playwriting Scholarship, Sewanee Writers' Conference, 1991/​1994

Penguin Benefit lunch honoring the contributions of Board Vice President Kim Hendrickson and Staci Swedeen, 2008.

Fellowship to the Hudson Valley Writing Project Summer Institute in 2008 and 2005. Participants are selected for their expertise in both writing and teaching.

A Few Of My Plays

Three character, one set full length play
"The Goldman Project Should Be On Every Serious Theatregoer's To Do List" The Journal News
"Three Forks mixes right ingredients." Miami Herald
Did Peary really make it to the Pole?
Collected One Acts
An Evening of Short Comedies Exploring Reality, Relationships, and Love
"The show follows the life of a middle-aged woman coming to terms with some of lifes issues and with wonderful theatrics conveys the heartbreak and personal discovery in a deep and moving way." David Carlson, Patent Trader

A woman is haunted by unbearable memories -award winning play and short film.

Two brothers are forced to confront the intertwined nature of hatred and love. By turns funny and savage, the play ultimately recognizes that all truths kept silent become poisonous.

A different short play of mine has appeared in eight of the nine years the City Theatre Summer Shorts festival has been in existence - including 2004!